Bobby Poke – 25 years 10 months

Bobby Poke 2Name: Bobby Poke Jr.
DOB: 9/12/77
Race: Black
Marital Status: Divorced
Age: 43
Children: 7
Grandchildren: 1
State you are from: Illinois
State where your were charged: Indiana
Charge:(count 1)distribution of 5 Kilograms or more of cocaine(count 2) Possession with intent to Distribute 500 grams or more of Cocaine(count 3)Carrying a firearm in relation to a drug Trafficking Crime
Sentence: 25 years, 10 months
Served to date: 17 years
Started Sentence: 1/15/04
Priors: 1994 Possession with intent to distribute less than 1 gram of cocaine
Prison Conduct: 3 infractions
Clemency status:
Supporters: Family, kids, friends
FCI Greenville
Accomplishments: GED\Recreation Aide Training\Basic Spanish\Basic Stock Investing Skills\Leather Craft\(CLA)Lean 6 Sigma

According to Bobby: 
Bobby PokeI was born in Gary, Indiana, where I was raised in a single parent home. My mother struggled while taking care of 4 kids. We lived in Dorie Miller housing Authority where drugs were an every day, normal thing.  My mother died in a car accident when I was 14 years old. There was no positive role models in my life which lead me to the streets trying to help take care of myself and 3 siblings.
I’ve been incarcerated since Jan. 2004. I have a non-violent drug case that resulted in me receiving a 310 month sentence. I was 25 years old at the time. I truly accept responsibility for my actions which lead me to this point.
A lot has changed with the drug laws over the years and if sentenced today I would not receive such a long sentence.
I have 7 kids who are growing up without a father.  My time away has affected them in a myriad of ways. The one that bothers me the most is my 16 year old son.  He is currently in Juvenile and seems to be going down the same path in life that I took. I’m confident that my presence in his life can help prevent him from making the same mistakes I made and I yearn for the opportunity to save him from a dead-end life, sitting in a prison cell.
During my incarceration things that I have accomplished helped me to become a better person. I am a different man today than I was 13 years ago. I was once part of the problem in my community, today I want to be part of the solution. I feel that I can show my son and others like him that there is a better way. I am genuinely a good person who made some bad decisions in life. If given the opportunity to have a second chance I will definitely be a positive and productive citizen in society.  I have programmed and want to prove to my family, community and society that I am worthy of forgiveness and mercy.

Scroll to top