Anita Gage – FREE at LAST!!! 30 Years 6 Months

Anita far right with her children: Melody and Michael.

Anita far right with her children: Melody and Michael.

Anita Gage
DOB: 3/29/1950
Age: 64 Years
Children: 1 son and 1 daughter
Race: Hispanic/Cuban
Arrested: March 29, 1991
Charge: Conspiracy to Aid and Abet the Manufacture of Meth.
Sentenced: 1992
Served: 23 years 5 months
Sentence: Life reduced to 30.5 years in April of 2003.
Release Date: September 26, 2016.
Prior Charge: One Minor charge for drugs (state) in 1988 – surrendered herself every weekend to serve sentence.
Prison Conduct: Only one incident in 22 years for insolence
Accomplishments: Worked in Unicor for 21 years; learned many skills; Mechanics; Humvee; Licensed to operate a forklift; Carpentry; OSHA trained; Blasting Con Ex Boxes; completed the 500 hour RDAP drug program; and much more.
Clemency: Filled out the survey for Clemency Project 2014 and submitted on May 05 2014
Institution: Victorville Camp

CAN-DO Founder, Amy Povah personally knows Anita because her “room” was next to hers where they served time at FCI Dublin. There were no bars at Dublin because it was originally a youth correctional facility for boys that still has the original wooden doors with a small window to peep through.  “Anita is one of the nicest women I’ve ever met and I don’t mean just while in prison. Anita went to work at Unicor every day, (where inmates make furniture/products for gov’t agencies for .23 cents to $1.15 per hour)  never complained, always treated everyone with respect, was liked by everyone, never got into trouble, was respectful and extremely humble. I had to reach out to Anita because she is never one to ask anyone for anything.   So, I insisted that Anita let me put her on this list, even though she will be getting out in 2015 if she qualifies for a 1 year half-way house.”

Anita’s case is another situation where she introduced two people and was held responsible for their actions by way of association, but Anita does not want to focus on the details.  After so many years, the details seem like a footnote in the past of someone she hardly remembers – herself, when she owned an Antique store and got involved with and trusted the wrong person.  Anita will be an asset to society and anyone who may ever have the great fortune to know her.

From Anita:

It hurts too much to focus on the past, so I try not to think about the fact that I have lost my brother (1997) and father (1999) while I’ve been incarcerated. I have also lost relatives on my mother’s side, an aunt and uncle and another brother has been in a coma since 2003.

Since I have been incarcerated I have been focused on doing what I need to do so I can go home and be with my two children.  Melody was 13 when I was sentenced – she is now 36 years old. Michael was 18 and is now 41 years old. Neither have children. There are so many things I want to do with them to make up for the years we’ve lost.


Anita’s ceramics work


Anita’s ceramics work

I have done most my time at two institutions, FCI Dublin and Victorville, where I am currently confined. I like to stay busy during my free time when I am not working at Unicor.  They say idol minds are the devil’s workshop, so I stay busy walking and jogging the track; doing exercise twice daily.  Work outs consist of early morning (5:30 a.m.) and afternoon (5:30 p.m.). I enjoy working on ceramics. I have probably sent home enough ceramics to fill a house! Periodically, I have taught a ceramics class and assist women with their individual projects.

At FCI Dublin, I enjoyed beading classes and did a lot of leather work. I have crocheted throughout my incarceration. Through the drug program, I have been a mentor to many women, sharing my story and participating in the “mentor program.”  I’m currently taking a typing/keyboarding class.

This year I attended the JOB MOCH Fair at Victorville where I was interviewed by possible employers as I prepare to end my time and join the working world. I have done a current resume that has listed all my job skills, training, and work experience.  I have paid my fine off in full, so do not owe any money to the government when I am released.  My sister has offered to give me a job if I am fortunate enough to be released early and I have a very supportive family that will help me with all the basic necessities to ensure that I will succeed, if given the opportunity.

Scroll to top