Crystal Nicole Douglas – 9 Years for Maintaining a Drug Involved Premises.

Name: Crystal Nicole Douglas, Reg. #59199-177.
DOB: December 1, 1983.
Race: White.
Raised: Tarrant County, Texas.
Tried:  Northern District of Texas.
Will live: Dallas, Texas.
Charges: 21 USC 856(a)(1) Maintaining a drug involved premises.
Trial or plea: Plea.
Sentenced on: February 3, 2020.
Priors: Minor traffic tickets.
Prison Conduct: Exemplary.
Clemency status:  Pending.
Release date: April 24, 2026.
Institution: FMC Carswell Camp, P.O. Box 27137, Fort Worth, TX 76127.
Supporters: Family, Friends, CAN-DO Foundation, Lisa Jacobi.
Health issues: None
Accomplishments: Many Courses Completed; College Courses Completed; Canine Companion/Trainer.
According to Nicole:     I have made a lifetime of poor decisions based on my addiction, and I feel it necessary to give a little insight as to who I am.  At the age of 5 I was raped by a family member, and this abuse continued until I was the age of 9.  The physical and emotional scars left from this kind of abuse are life changing.  I was committed to four different mental health treatment centers by the time I turned 18.  In addition to abusing multiple substances, I self-mutilated as a means of escape.  My life changed when I had my oldest son.  I had a new beginning, a fresh start, a life I had some control over.  Someone to love and care for, to protect.  I was happy and content to be a mother.  Soon I was having my second child and although life had its ups and downs, for the most part I was doing good!
My boy’s father was in and out of prison, and I was left to support myself and two small boys. When he was released from prison things were better for a while.  He got a job and was doing well.  My substance abuse was at a minimum which sounds ridiculous to me now, but at the time, seemed like a positive thing.  My youngest son came along, and the boys father picked up his old lifesytle of dealing drugs.  In my dysfunctional mindset, I thought I could still be a great mom regardless of what he was doing. I know ignorance of the law is no excuse, but I had no idea I would be imprisoned for what he was doing.  Although I never made any transactions myself, I did have knowledge of what he was doing. I am guilty of not putting an end to it, or not leaving the premises with my sons. I spent countless hours on “what ifs.”
In the last three years I have watched what my absence from my sons lives has done to them, and they are paying the price for my bad decisions.  Because of that, I am committed to changing myself and my life.  I am taking several classes that help deal with my trauma and how to obtain the tools for coping in healthy ways.  I am also in multiple parenting classes.  I have also dedicated myself to rehabilitation and am enrolled in Stratford Career Institutes, Drug and Alcohol Treatment Specialist class, and plan to further my education to obtain my L.C.D.C (Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselor) for when I am released.  I believe the solution to addiction is education. Until we understand addiction and provide treatment, this problem will continue to plague our society.
My plans upon my release are first and foremost, is to restore my relationship with my children; Levi is 12 years old; Jaxon is 10 and Roman is 5 years old.  I want to provide for them what I never had; a safe and happy childhood.  I want to follow in my mother’s footsteps who just celebrated 10 years clean and sober from all mind-altering substances, and she now helps others overcome addiction. I want to work for MHMR and further my education as a drug counselor.  I hope to make a difference in the lives of people like me.  If I can help just one person, then everything I have been through has had purpose.
It should be noted, I have also had the opportunity to take several other programming classes such as: July 28, 2022, I graduated from Stratford Career Institute with 94% average and with highest honors.  I completed the Drug & Alcohol Treatment Specialist course and I plan to further my education to become a licensed chemical dependency counselor and work for MHMR in a rehabilitation center.  I desperately want to give back and help other addicts who are where I used to be. August 17, 2022, I completed a 4000-hour Office Manager Apprenticeship Program through the United States Department of Labor.  I learned many skills that will be helpful upon my release.
I have learned many things through the programs I have taken.  The #1 thing I have learned is that I am responsible for being where I am today, and I will be responsible for where I end up years from now.  I take full responsibility for my actions and for the crimes I have committed, and I am deeply sorry.
Currently my three boys are being raised by their grandmother, and she is not in the best of health.  I have a great support system to help me in any way I need and am now asking for that second chance to right my wrongs.
In closing, I ask you to see me as the woman I strive to be and not the mistake I’ve made.  Thank you for your time and consideration where I am concerned.  These years in prison have opened my eyes and allowed me to get clean and make the changes necessary to obtain my goals.  But a decade in prison I feel would be detrimental to my children and counterproductive to my achieving this.
Release planHousing: If released on clemency, Ms. Douglas has a loving and caring family who are committed to assisting her in a successful reentry to society.  She also has many friends in the community who plan to assist as well.  Ms. Douglas would live with her sister, Victoria, in Dallas, Texas. Employment: Ms. Douglas has a job waiting for her as a photography editor with her brother-in-law who has offered her a position working with him.  Medical: Ms. O’Neal plans to secure medical insurance through her employer.

Scroll to top